Welcome Message from the Co-Chairs

Tawanda Foster Artis

Jasmine McGhee

By Tawanda Foster Artis and Jasmine McGhee

Dear Members of the North Carolina Bar Association,
We are honored and excited to serve as the co-chairs for the Minorities in the Profession (“MIP”) Committee for the 2019-2020 Bar Year.

This committee has a full and rich history in one of our state’s largest voluntary bar associations.  Since 1987, MIP has worked to spotlight and eradicate discrimination and institutionalized racism in the legal profession, to expand opportunities for racially diverse attorneys and law students, and to educate the community at large.  MIP’s focus on addressing issues unique to attorneys and other legal professionals of color and minority law students make it one of the most active and value added committees of the Bar Association.  Our dedicated membership commits their time and talents to our projects and events each and every year.  We thank you for your continued support of this committee and our endeavors.

We have established an ambitious schedule full of impactful programming and events for this year.  Our calendar includes ¡Adelante! Moving Forward on November 2, 2019, the MIP Pre-Law Conference on March 21, 2020, the 1L Summer Associate Program in early 2020, the Diversity & Inclusion Summit on May 15, 2020, annual Legal Legend of Color Awards Reception during the Annual Meeting, as well as other networking events and pro bono programs. We also welcome the opportunity to partner with other Divisions, Sections, and Committees of the Bar Association and interested groups are encouraged to reach out to us at any time!

We know none of this would be possible without the help our invaluable committee members.  We are grateful for the support of our members, our allies, the bar association leadership, and every member of the Bar Association.  We look forward to seeing you all at an MIP event soon.

Best regards,

Tawanda Foster Artis (Tawanda.Foster@ncleg.net) and
Jasmine McGhee (jmcghee@ncdoj.gov)

Co-Chairs, Minorities in the Profession Committee