Nominate Deserving Attorneys For the Criminal Justice Section’s Gilchrist and Smith Awards

NCBA Criminal Justice Section Members:

The NCBA Criminal Justice Section is continuing the tradition of presentations of the Peter S. Gilchrist III and Wade M. Smith Awards for the ninth year.  The 2016-2017 Peter S. Gilchrist, III/Wade M. Smith Awards will be presented Jan. 26, 2017, at the annual Awards Banquet at the Embassy Suites in Cary.  The banquet will precede the NCBA Criminal Justice Section CLE/Annual Meeting, which will be held on Jan. 27, 2017, at the Bar Center in Cary.

The NCBA Criminal Justice Section Council invites you to submit nominations for both awards.  Anyone can submit nominations. Please forward this request for nominations to your local bar and encourage them to submit nominations for both awards.

Please consider the following criteria in selecting a colleague for this honor:

1.      Actively practicing as a prosecutor (DA, ADA, U.S. Attorney, AUSA or AG) or defense attorney;
2.      At least 15 years of continuous practice as a prosecutor (DA, ADA, U.S. Attorney, AUSA or AG) or defense attorney;
3.      An exemplary record and reputation within the legal community, and who abides by the highest ethical standards;
4.      Has been an active, positive force inside and outside the courtroom in working to improve the criminal justice system;
5.      Does not need to be a member of the NCBA.

At the Inaugural Awards Dinner held in Charlotte in 2008, Peter S. Gilchrist III and Wade M. Smith were honored as a Prosecutor and Defense Attorney who exemplified the highest ideals and professionalism through their career.

Past Recipients List
Peter S. Gilchrist, III – Prosecutor Award Recipients
2008 – Peter S. Gilchrist III, Charlotte
2009 – Edward W. Grannis Jr., Fayetteville
2010 – William D. Kenerly Salisbury
2011 – C. Colon Willoughby, Jr., Raleigh
2012 – Calvin W. Colyer, Fayetteville
2013 – James J. Coman, Raleigh
2014 –  Sandra J. Hairston, Greensboro
2015 – Barton M. Menser, Charlotte

Wade M. Smith – Defense Attorney Award Recipients
2008 – Wade M. Smith, Raleigh
2009 – Locke T. Clifford, Greensboro
2010 – James P. Cooney, III, Charlotte
2011 – Joseph B. Cheshire, V, Raleigh
2012 – James E Ferguson II, Charlotte
2013 – Frederick G. Lind, Greensboro
2014 – Mark W. Owens Jr., Greenville
2015 – Thomas C. Manning, Wake Forest

Nominees from previous years automatically “roll over” for consideration in subsequent years.  Please submit all Nominations by Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2016.

Award Nomination Form is accessible via link:

Please take the time to nominate a prosecutor (DA, ADA, U.S. Attorney, AUSA or AG) and defense attorney you feel is worthy of such an important award. Then calendar to join us to celebrate our honorees on Jan. 26, 2017.  Watch for information in December to register for Awards dinner and CLE.

If you have any questions please email or call 919-657-1561 or 1-800-662-7407 and ask for Jacquelyn.