All We Need Is You: Sign Up Deadlines For the SLD Fall Meeting Approaching

Erwin Fuller, Senior Lawyers Division Chair

SLD Members:

All arrangements are now in place for our SLD Fall 2018 Meeting in Salisbury on November 8-10, and all we need is your presence! FYI, there is no registration fee for this SLD meeting.

You can review the meeting schedule of events by clicking here, and a good variety of events has been planned for your information and your entertainment.  Please note that there will be trolley transport to some of our SLD meeting events.

Whenever there is an SLD meeting, we always have good dining experience opportunities, and the upcoming Salisbury meeting is no exception.  Click here for dining event registrations which need your prompt attention, especially your registration for the Friday evening dinner (11/9/18) at the Salisbury Country Club, which will follow our tour of the historic Steeleworth Plantation House and the late Friday afternoon reception at the residence of Glenn and Susan Ketner (from which the Country Club dinner venue is within sight).

Read more

Early Registration Deadline Upcoming For SLD Fall Meeting CLE

Senior Lawyers Division Chair Erwin Fuller

The SLD 2018 Fall Meeting is scheduled for the weekend of Nov. 8-10 in Salisbury. Click here to view the schedule. Please be aware of these important items related to the meeting:

The early registration deadline for the 3-hour CLE segment on Friday morning, Nov. 9, is this Friday, Oct. 19. Beginning next week, unless the early registration deadline is extended a few days because of the recent hurricanes which affected our state severely, the CLE registration fee for our meeting will increase to $125.00 instead of $115.00.  There will not be a CLE segment of our meeting on Saturday morning, Nov. 10, but we will have three interesting and informative speakers (non-CLE) for that Saturday morning session. Click here to register for the CLE.

The preferred direct telephone number to use for room reservations at the Courtyard by Marriott in Salisbury is (704) 680-9201, and you will need to identify yourself as a NCBA SLD member to receive the favorable room rate (which is only guaranteed through Wednesday, Oct.31).  It will be best to contact the Salisbury Courtyard by Marriott directly for room reservation purposes rather than using the national Marriott reservation system.  The Salisbury Courtyard by Marriott will be the headquarters facility for our Salisbury SLD meeting.

Read more

SLD Inaugural Blog Post: Fall Meeting Nov. 8-10, Pro Bono Project Details and More

Senior Lawyers Division Chair Erwin Fuller

Dear Senior Lawyer Division Members:

Welcome to Fall 2018 and a new SLD program year.  I hope that you all had a pleasant summer and that many of you have a special summer 2018 event memory.  I’m in that group since I had a BIG birthday in July and my children and grandchildren arranged a birthday celebration weekend for the whole Fuller family at Fontana Lake in western North Carolina in early August where I got to ride on a tube pulled by a power boat (with me hanging on for dear life) together with my youngest grandchild (7½)!

Our hearts are heavy as we think about the citizens of our state living in eastern North Carolina (many of whom are SLD members) who have suffered devastating damage and loss from Hurricane Florence winds and rainfall, and I know that SLD members who were spared this tragedy will be reaching out with financial and other assistance for storm victims in the coming weeks and months.

I am excited to tell you about the SLD 2018 Fall Meeting which will take place in Salisbury during the weekend of Nov. 8-10.  We are planning an interesting event which will combine a three-hour CLE video replay component on Friday morning, Nov. 9, three interesting and enlightening speakers (non-CLE) on Saturday morning, Nov. 10, a fine group of dining experiences plus visits to local sites on Friday and Saturday, and a celebration dinner at the Salisbury Country Club on Friday evening, Nov. 9, following a reception at the home of Glenn and Susan Ketner which is within sight of the celebration dinner venue.  To top things off, you will have a trolley transport opportunity as we move from place to place during that meeting. Click here for more details.

Read more